Homemade Pot Noodle – part 2

In my last post I talked about making my own pot noodles, well I’ve now had a few goes and I think I am getting the hang of it, having tested out a couple of different noodles I continue to try different flavour combinations, some good, some bad. It is by far the easiest thing to do, set your ingredients up and just layer them in a Mason or Kilner jar in fact I use a wide mouthed soup flask. One thing I havent tried is coconut milk or extra soy sauce, partly because I haven’t got round to planning the ingredients to go with them. If you have any suggestions please let me know 🙂 Ingredients1 Tbsp Sauce – Miso/Tom Yum/Umami/any soup type base1 Handful Fresh or frozen vegetables – up to you but do think practically as the veg will not cook in the boiling water, it should however have thawed enough just to warm through. Greens of all kinds work really well as they require little to know cooking and are packed full of good stuff.1 Handful of chopped cooked chicken/pork/sausage/beef – this is totally optional just remember it must be cooked as the boiling water will not cook it for you.1 Serving of Straight to wok/udon/ribbon rice noodles.1 1ltr Mason jar/Kilner Jar or other such heat proof container.Method1. Layer your sauce right at the bottom that way it wont make the noodles soggy.2. Next layer up your vegetables – if you are adding meat be sure to put that layer in between the veg as it keeps it away from the sauce and the noodles.3. Add the noodles on top. Store in the fridge until required (they will keep for up to a week but to be honest they are so quick you could make it fresh everyday like I do.4. When ready add freshly boiled water to the container mixing thoroughly and allow to stand for a minute or two, stir again and enjoy. I’ve added a soft boiled egg to this one to give it the authentic ramen feel.I hope you enjoy my post, if you have any questions please do get in contact or comment below!

Source: Homemade Pot Noodle – part 2

Leave a Reply

