Dairy Free Chocolate Fudge Icing

Some recipes are discovered out of laziness, some out of necessity, these two reasons are normally interlinked – i.e. I have run out of something and I can’t be bothered to go to the shops…Or like in this case and I had already been to the shops and got ingredients but discovered I was short of butter when I got back. Coconut oil on the shelf. To Google for a recipe – courtesy of OneGreenPlanetIngredients⅓ cup cocoa powder½ cup water¼ cup maple syrup (you can leave this out if necessary)1 tablespoon granulated sugar1 tablespoon powdered sugar1 tablespoon coconut oilPinch of saltMethod1. Combine all ingredients in a small saucepan over medium heat.2. Whisk together while mixture starts to thicken and slightly bubble, this should take about 4-5 minutes.3. Reduce heat to low and continue whisking for another 2-3 minutes, or until frosting is thick.Let cool slightly before using.I added this particular icing to a standard chocolate sponge i.e. eggs, butter etc and the original recipe is paired with a vegan brownie recipe. It’s a versatile addition to any repertoire. My only advice is that you make sure you allow it to cool a bit before you use it…my sponge melted slightly in the middle – not a huge drama – but something to be noted. So as always I hope you enjoy the recipe and let me know if you have any thoughts.

Source: Dairy Free Chocolate Fudge Icing

Leave a Reply

