An Edible Garden 2017

I am fortunate enough to have a communal garden. When I moved into my flat there was only grass and no one was doing anything with it, we talked about guerrilla gardening for a while. Then my friend surprised me on my birthday with two vegetable patches. Ever since they have been growing and maturing into something quite amazing, its now in its third year and we have planted some new things this year such as garlic, purple potatoes and shallots and we are hoping they will do well. Its a first attempt so it’s exciting to see how things are doing. Having all these vegetables will be great and give me an opportunity to cook with fabulously fresh ingredients. There is something very satisfying about using something from the garden rather than going to the shops to buy it.Yes it forces you to eat more seasonally but that in my opinion can only be a good thing. It would be nice to think that we could build the garden so that we dont have to buy veg anymore but that will take time and patience – it is great that we have this much already! As you can see the ‘perpetual spinach’ or ‘rainbow chard’ is thriving I have taken some of the leaves today so it can continue to grow, the same with the ‘purple sprouting’ below. If you let these plants ‘go over’ you increase your chances of them returning next year, as the seeds drop into the ground and hopefully germinate etc. Some advise against doing this but we have found this to be the most effective strategy with the garden, some would call this lazy but i’d say its a time management issue. The results are often a stunning array of flowers then the plants die down over the winter.An edible garden is one of nature’s most sacred gifts, if you are lucky enough to have a space to use then please do…For those who do not have an open space, do you have a window box space? Do not see a window box as a restriction – you can grow plenty in them. If you are not sure where to start there is a plethora of different blogs and websites to help you.It changes your relationship with food when you can see it from seed to plate, I am a firm believer of understanding the processes, I understand the process of animals turning into meat, I prefer to eat free range and well looked after meats and delicious fresh vegetables – I could not become vegan as I simply couldnt give up certain things but I accept other peoples opinions and beliefs.So I hope to be coming back to you with a wealth of recipes for my homegrown produce :-)If you are growing anything unusual let me know in the comments I would love to hear more!

Source: An Edible Garden 2017

Leave a Reply

