Sausage & Sweet Potato Pie

A pie requirement was needing to be fulfilled earlier this week and I decided it would be a savoury one. I already knew where to find the recipe I reached for my copy of ‘Nigel Slater’s Real Food’ – I scanned an eye down the recipe – I already had some puff pastry in the fridge so no need for the short pastry part of the recipe. I had some excellent sausages which I removed the skins and some sweet potato which instead of the normal white ones.I am going to give you my version of the recipe, feel free to check out the original. I believe recipes are there for interpretation so if there is something you think would work better then try it! Let me know in the comments its great to have feedback.Ingredients1 x sheet of Pre-rolled Puff Pastry 1 tbsp coconut oil500g Sweet Potato Sliced 1 Medium sized brown onion sliced finely6 x Good herby sausages from the butchers (Skinned) or 400g Sausage Meat1 x Small Courgette250g of Butternut Squash Sliced1 x Chicken or vegetable stock pot + 400ml boiling water (or roughly 500ml bouillon stock)1 egg beaten1 9” Pie dishMethod Pre-heat the oven to 180c/375f1. In a large heavy based pan melt the coconut oil over a medium heat.2. Add the onions and sauté until soft, once they are golden add the sausage meat and brown lightly.3. Add the sweet potatoes and butternut squash and the stock pot/bouillon, if you are using a stock pot add to the pan and warm in pan before adding boiling water.4. Simmer for 5 to 10 minutes until tender, you will want the liquid to reduce and thicken slightly if it doesn’t add half a teaspoon of cornflour to thicken.5. Add mixture to pie dish and lay pastry on top – cutting the pastry to fit the dish (you can freeze the excess pastry or turn into sweet or savoury twists.6. Using a fork make several air holes across the top and brush the beaten egg all over.7. Place the pie in the middle of the oven for 30 minutes until golden brown and the filling is piping hot.Allow the pie to cool slightly before serving with fresh greens.I hope you have enjoyed this recipe, let me know your thoughts.

Source: Sausage & Sweet Potato Pie

Leave a Reply

